ITU X.800 brief overview

Share This:

ITU X.800 is a security/threat model for end to end communication.
Standard consists of Planes and Layers as well as security dimensions to provide very efficient Architecture and security for end to end communication.
There are eight security dimensions addresses to network vulnerability which are listed below with brief explanation and a way of how can they be implemented:

• Access Control – as it can be understood by its name it controls the access to services such as routers, switches, firewalls etc. Implementation can be done in the configuration of such network element or host and for example linking authentication server with these elements.
• Authentication – request of proving subjects identity by for instance digital certificate.
• Non-repudiation – as far as I understand this section keeps the logs and has abilities to do some actions.
• Data Consistency – Provides for instance encryption based on our organization file classification to make sure that our sensitive data is protected.
• Communication Security – that’s security between point A and B. Uses of non-obscured protocols such as VPN so that sniffing or eavesdropping becomes very unlikely.
• Data integrity – checks that both incoming and outgoing data is correct – means for instance if we request 308kb we should receive the same size file on the destination host.
• Availability – makes sure that legitimate users have got access to all necessary network elements and application according to what they suppose to do (role).
• Privacy – provides again encryption of data as one way of implementation but also for instance Network Address Translation (NAT) to protect internal hosts and redirect all the incoming traffic to the border firewall.

Zachary Zeltsan,. (2005*). ITU/IETF Workshop on NGN

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Time limit is exhausted. Please reload the CAPTCHA.